The Lily S. Chow Award is annually presented to juniors in the Department of Dietetics and Human Nutrition who display high levels of academic achievement, campus involvement, and professional potential. Recipients are selected by faculty in the department and are recognized at the School of Human Environmental Sciences Student Awards ceremony at the end of each spring semester.

Recipients of the awards receive a scholarship funded through the Lily S. Chow Award of Excellence. The endowment was established by Dr. Ching Chow and his wife, Lily to recognize students that have the highest academic standing in Dietetics and Human Nutrition. Dr. Chow has been a faculty member in the Department of Dietetics and Human Nutrition since 1976 and has long been a supporter of scholarship for students. He is an active member of the American Society for Nutritional Sciences and the American Society for Clinical Nutrition.

Left Kelly Sorge, Right Megan Ferrell

Left Kelly Sorge and Dr. Ann Vail, Right Megan Ferrell and Dr. Ann Vail

The third annual Lily Chow Awards (2013) were presented to Kelly Sorge and Megan Ferrell. Kelly is majoring in dietetics and is the current president of Student Dietetic and Nutrition Association. Megan is majoring in human nutrition. She is involved with many campus organizations, including the Student Dietetic and Nutrition Association and the Pre-Physician Assistant Club

Posted 7/15/13