UK extension agents received national recognition for their outstanding programming efforts. Photo by Kayla Watts, Breathitt County family and consumer sciences extension agent.

Lexington, Ky., - University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension Service agents received national recognition for innovative programming and career accomplishments during the annual meeting of the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

“All across Kentucky, family and consumer sciences extension agents are working to improve the quality of life for individuals and families,” said Jennifer Hunter, UK assistant director of family and consumer sciences extension. “Being recognized on a national level is a testament to the quality of programming they are providing to Kentucky.”

UK FCS agents received distinguished service, continued excellence and program awards.

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes family and consumer sciences educators for their leadership, outstanding programs and personal and professional growth. It is the highest award presented by the association. Award recipients must have 10 or more years of service to the profession and the association. Winners include Crystal Osborne, Owsley County; Christy Nuetzman Guffey, Clinton County; and Melissa Goodman, Hickman County.

The Continued Excellence Award is given to individuals who are actively involved in professional improvement programs, promote the professional development of colleagues and exhibit leadership. Winners must have 12 or more years of service and be a past recipient of the association’s Distinguished Service Award. Award winners include Nanette Banks, Letcher County; Amanda Hardy, Henderson County; and Hazel Jackson, Rockcastle County.

Julia Wilson of Edmonson County and her team won first place in the social media education-online video category. Team members include Rachel Hance of Logan County, Christy Ramey of Simpson County, Tracy Thornton of Butler County, Lynn Blankenship of Metcalfe County, LaToya Drake of Barren County, Janey Cline of Hart County and Jamille Hawkins, formerly of Monroe County.

Sherri Broderick of Gallatin County placed second in environmental education, and Amanda Hardy received second place in communication: TV/video.

Author: Katie Pratt
Contact: Jennifer Hunter, 859-257-3290