Kentucky’s Alpha Kappa chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi, the national Extension professionals’ organization, recently presented awards for individual and team achievements in Extension.  Several Family and Consumer Sciences Extension professionals and staff were recognized.  We congratulate all of these outstanding award winners!

Award Winners

  • Darlene Tipton, Administrative Support Associate, School of Human Environmental Sciences and Family and Consumer Sciences Extension received the state/area Meritorious Service Award.  Tipton has 37 years of service with Extension, with 32 years providing support for the Assistant Director for Family and Consumer Sciences Extension. She is a friendly face to greet guests, a soothing, informative voice on the phone, and a consummate professional who has provided outstanding support throughout her career.

  • Sherry Belcher, Warren County SNAP-ED Program Assistant came to extension with passion and zest.  In 2013, she conducted programs reaching 288 youth and adults.  She is passionate about helping audiences of all types gain nutrition skills and make the most of their vegetable and fruit purchases.

  • Nellie Buchanan, Morgan County Extension Agent for Family and Consumer Sciences received the Distinguished Service Award.  Nellie’s career focuses on empowering families and leaders to succeed, and she challenges clientele to set and attain goals. Her commitment to involve non-traditional audiences through community collaboration creates avenues for increased participation and new programming venues. She has been recognized for her professionalism, teamwork, mentoring and visionary leadership.

  • Linda Combs, Knott County Extension Agent for Family and Consumer Sciences was recognized with the Individual Program Achievement Award for Back to Basics – Wellness in Lott’s Creek.  This collaborative project was designed to increase the overall wellness of Knott County residents.  The program focused on decreasing hunger, improving food choices, family health and physical activity.

  • Elizabeth Creed, Woodford County Extension Agent for Family and Consumer Sciences, along with Woodford County Extension colleagues Jenny Cocanougher, Adam Probst, Faye Tewksbury, Jimmy Chambers, Wanda Moberly and Kym Pope, received the County Team Program Award.  The Woodford County team was recognized for Woodford Leadership Tomorrow, an in-depth program for high school juniors who demonstrate leadership potential.  Through the program, youth engage in an in-depth study of their community, discuss local issues with current leaders and serve with civic organizations.  To date, 325 juniors have graduated from the program.

  • Christy Nuetzman, Clinton County Extension Agent for Family and Consumer Sciences and Debbie Messenger, Cumberland County Extension Agent for Family and Consumer Sciences received the Multi-County Team Program Award for Weight Loss Wars: Clinton vs. Cumberland.  Through this program, participants in the program competed in a weight loss challenge and demonstrated success in making lifestyle changes, including increased physical activity, weight loss and improved overall wellness.

  • Diana Doggett, Fayette County Extension Agent for Family and Consumer Sciences and Jennifer Hunter, Assistant Extension Professor for Family Financial Management, along with collaborators, received the State Team Program Award for Job Club. Through this program, Fayette County Extension partners with the UK Alumni Association and local agencies and businesses to offer a seminar series targeted for job seekers.  The program began as a nine session series and has expanded to an ongoing program to address community needs to help people gain employment.

  • Sue Stivers, retired Adair County Extension Agent for Family and Consumer Sciences, received the Outstanding Retiree Service Award.  Stivers is highly involved in Columbia and Adair County, where she serves as Executive Director of the Columbia-Adair County Chamber of Commerce. Since taking this position, she has increased membership from 65 to 250 members.  She serves on twenty committees and planning boards.  Stivers is an alumnus of the School of Human Environmental Sciences and a member of the School’s Hall of Fame.
Posted 3/5/14