Who are we?

Phi Upsilon Omicron (Phi U), Iota Chapter at the University of Kentucky, is an honor society for students who have majors in the School of Human Environmental Sciences*.   It seeks to develop the leadership qualities and the professionalism that are essential to success post-graduation. We accomplish this through completing projects in our community that are related to issues found in the School of Human Environmental Sciences.

What is needed to get involved?

  • Undergraduates-Cumulative GPA of 3.0 /36 credit hours earned (at least 12 hours at UK)
  • Graduate Students-Cumulative GPA of 3.2/ 12 Graduate hours at UK
  • Strong sense of community service
  • Great potential for leadership

The purposes of Phi Upsilon Omicron are to:

  • Recognize and promote academic excellence.
  • Enhance qualities of leadership by providing opportunities for service.
  • Encourage lifelong learning and commitment to advance family and consumer sciences and related areas.

National website: http://www.phiu.org/

*Human Environmental Sciences majors:   Dietetics, Family Sciences, Family & Consumer Science Education, Hospitality Management, Human Nutrition, and Merchandising, Apparel & Textiles
Iota Chapter 2015 Initiates - Members and Speakers

FRONT ROW (new initiates): Caitlin Brown, Heidi Olson, Michaela Mineer, Rachel Rose, Britney Thomas, Emma Rhodes
BEHIND: Ana Cervera, Dr. Ann Vail, Sidney Hobbs, Brynnan Jacobs, Mandi McLean, Denise Schaeffer, John Rupp, Ms. Terry Buckner, Logan Douglas, Kathryn Knabel, Shelby Rose, Ms. Cristina Hiten

See more Initiation photos here

Phi Upsilon Omicron 2015-2016 Officers:

Brynnan Jacobs - President 

Catlin Brown - First Vice President

Caitlin Brown - Second Vice President & Initiation Chair

Emma Rodes - Secretary

Logan Douglas - Treasurer

Logan Douglas - Publicity Chair

Denise Schaeffer - Candle Reporter & Historian

Mandi McLean - Parliamentarian

Heidi Olson - Librarian & Points System Chair

Brynnan Jacobs - Ag Student Council Representative

Logan Douglas, Emma Rhodes, Heidi Olson, Mandi McLean, Sydney Hobbs - Fundraising Co-Chairs

Ms. Louise Gladstone, Phi U Advisor